Brewers’ OF Christian Yelich wins 2019 Silver Slugger Award


First-timers for the American League are Cleveland Indians first baseman Carlos Santana, New York Yankees infielder DJ LeMahieu, Houston Astros infielder Alex Bregman and Minnesota Twins catcher Mitch Garver.

The Silver Sluggers, presented by the maker of bats Louisville Slugger, are regular season prizes voted by the coaches and coaches of the Major League Baseball. He was also named the victor of the Hank Aaron Award; He received that trophy in the World Series.

Three Astros players were recognized on Thursday when Louisville Sluggers announced the 2019 Silver Slugger Award winners, which honors the top offensive players at each position in each league.

Bregman, 25, hit.296 (164x554) with 37 doubles, 41 home runs, 112 RBI, five stolen bases and a 1.015 OPS (.423 OBP/.592 SLG) in 156 games for the Astros this season.

More news: Disney reaches on deal with Amazon for Disney
More news: RFE/RL: Pompeo warns of threats to liberty posed by Russia, China
More news: Beyond the Weather: Transit of Mercury

The Silver Slugger Awards are voted on by managers and coaches.

Christian Yelich #22 of the Milwaukee Brewers slides across home plate to score on a double to left field by teammate Ryan Braun #8 (not in photo) during the first inning of Game Three of the National League Championship Series against the Los Angeles Dodgers at Dodger Stadium on October 15, 2018 in Los Angeles, California.

Colorado Rockies star Nolan Arenado watched his streak of four consecutive Silver Slugger Awards end, with Washington Nationals star Anthony Rendon named the best offensive third baseman in the National League. He set a Twins record with a .639 slugging percentage.