Montcalm County aerial spray for EEE may take place Thursday


All of the human cases have occurred in five Southwest Michigan counties: Barry, Berrien, Cass, Kalamazoo and Van Buren.

According to The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, pyrethrins are commonly used to control mosquitoes, fleas, flies, moths, ants and other pests and have been registered for use in pesticides since the 1950s.

For those in Allegan County who have already sent an email with their name and full residential address to, an area of 1,000 by 1,000 feet would not be sprayed around the residence.

Other states, including MA and Rhode Island, have recently done such sprays as well during a year in which the number of USA deaths and illnesses from the virus are higher than usual. EEE has also been identified in 27 animals in 13 different counties including Barry, Berrien, Calhoun, Cass, Genesee, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Kent, Lapeer, Montcalm, Newaygo, St. Joseph and Van Buren.

Spraying will begin at dusk and conclude by 4:30a.m. on October 3.

In Michigan, nine people have tested positive, three of whom have died.

More news: Huawei Phones Had Bootleg Access to Google Apps. Not Anymore
More news: Texts show reactions to Trump demands on Ukraine
More news: Help floods in for homeless LA subway opera singer

Officials said the pesticide, Merus 3.0, will not pose a health risk to humans or animals, including bees and other pollinators as long as they do not come into direct contact.

Individuals can still request to opt their property out of spraying.

Just last week, the state of MI and health departments in the area announced 14 counties would get aerial spraying to kill off the mosquitoes carrying this deadly disease. "Aerial spraying is not expected to have any impacts on surface water or drinking water".

WWMT-TV reports that 79-year-old Stan Zalner of Battle Creek died Wednesday after contracting eastern equine encephalitis.

MDHHS issued a press release at 12:15 p.m. regarding the decision of aerial spraying being conducted by fourteen (14) counties to combat mosquito-borne disease.