Also, photos and videos that are being deleted in Drive will no longer be removed from Photos and vice versa.
Starting in July, Google Photos will not automatically sync to Google Drive. Moreover, those who have a " Google Photos" folder in Drive will be pleased to know that while it will remain on Drive, it will no longer update automatically.
To make it easier to move photos from Drive to Photos, Google is adding an "Upload from Drive" button on the Google Photos website that will let you upload items from Drive - including items under "Shared with Me".More news: British lawmakers reject opposition move to block no-deal Brexit
More news: Waze just inherited one of the best features of Google Maps
More news: Andy Ruiz Jr. wants $50 million to rematch Anthony Joshua in UK
The one real benefit here is that it's really easy to lose years' worth of photos by deleting them from one app and thinking they were safe in the other. Similarly, new photos and videos in Photos will not be added to the Photos folder in Drive.
According to Google, this change is created to prevent the accidental deletion of items across products. According to the page, manually duplicating the pictures across Google Drive to Google Photos will take up storage space over both accounts, but using the company's Backup and Sync service will not. Once copied, these items are not connected between the two products. Items you delete in Photos will not be deleted in Drive and vice versa. With the new changes, that goes away and you'll have to manually download photos every single time you want to use them on a Chromebook, complicating what was a mostly seamless process. It will also disallow you to put all the photos and videos stored in your Photos app to your PC by simply syncing your Drive folder. However, it is set to bring some inconvenience especially for the users who often access their memories directly from Google Drive or view their important photo or video content stored on Drive directly through the Google Photos app.
The confusing thing with the new system is that photos that are uploaded in original quality to both services will now count towards your storage quota twice.