XFL Unveils Eight Cities, Venues for Teams to Launch in February 2020


St. Louis is one of eight cities to be awarded a franchise in the returning XFL. The team's name was not announced.

"After months of research and consideration, we're thrilled to announce the cities and venues of the XFL's eight inaugural teams", Luck said.

Vince McMahon's XFL announced that the following cities will host teams and also announced the stadiums the teams will play in.

It's kind of hard to believe that the XFL is coming back in 2020, but with each passing day, we get a little closer to Vince McMahon's second attempt at starting a professional football league.

More news: Cardi B and Offset no longer together
More news: Rudy Giuliani Doesn't Seem to Know How the Internet Works
More news: Wilder hoping for a rematch with Fury 'ASAP'

"Football fans in the Emerald City have long had a reputation of being loud - really loud - and it's that energy and enthusiasm that convinced us that an XFL team will thrive in the Pacific Northwest at CenturyLink Field", XFL commissioner Oliver Luck said Wednesday morning.

McMahon is "personally funding" the new leaugue. The XFL has locked in major former National Football League executives, and in the first quarter of 2019, they will identify team presidents and key players, including Doug Flutie.

The NFL Cardinals played in St. Louis from 1960 to 1987 before relocating to Arizona. The XFL is now testing out elements of its format with junior college football teams to solidify a final on-field product. He said kickoff will be on February 8, and 9 in 2020, the weekend after the Super Bowl. Four of those stadiums are now home to NFL teams, while one is home to a Major League Baseball team, one is home to a Major League Soccer team, one his home to a college football team and one is a former home of an NFL team.