Indian bowler's unique action becomes the talk of the town

Share

However, his delivery was called a dead ball by the onfield umpire.

Left-arm spinner Shiva Singh who was representing Uttar Pradesh in the under-23 CK Nayudu Trophy has opened a new debate after bowling a weird "360-degree swirl" delivery during a match against Bengal.

"Under Law 21.1, the bowler must state his/her mode of delivery, which seems to have been left arm round the wicket in this case, but does not state how conventional the bowler's approach should be", the MCC's Law department said in the Lord's Law blog. So what prompted the match officials to term the delivery by Shiva as a dead ball.

Law No. 20.4.2.7 states that the ball is called dead when there is an instance of a deliberate attempt to distract under either of Laws 41.4 (Deliberate attempt to distract striker) or 41.5 (Deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of batsman).

But because he had only used it once - and it looked like a clear attempt to distract the striker - the umpire felt that it was the right time to implement the laws of the game.

More news: India will not hold talks with Taliban: MEA
More news: Ariana Grande Stumbles, Laughs While Performing ‘Thank U, Next’ on ‘Ellen’
More news: US midterms: Combative Trump blames media, fellow Republicans for House losses

Shiva Singh is in the news for his unmatched bowling action, and it is about "spinning" himself 360 degrees just before his delivery.

The switch hit has been in the game for years, and it is well within the legal rights of the batsman to use it. "But when bowlers do something like this it's deemed a dead ball", he concluded.

It is not a law that is set in stone, it is up to the umpire to take all factors into consideration and make his decision. The procedure in Law 41.4 also includes the awarding of five penalty runs.

He was playing against Bengal in the CK Nayudu Trophy - a four-day domestic tournament for under-23s - when he ran in to bowl.

The MCC cited the example of England pacer Stuart Broad, who received a warning from the match referee during a match against South Africa in 2009 for pointing at the cover fielder during his run-up, as it was felt to be a distraction tactic.

Share