Pair of Gamecocks nominated for Pro Football Hall of Fame


Former Packers coach Mike Holmgren, receiver Sterling Sharpe, and safeties LeRoy Butler and Nick Collins are among the 102 modern-era nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019.

The nominees will be reduced to 25 in November and 15 in January.

Joining Gonzalez on the list of nominees are former Chiefs' defensive end Neil Smith (1988-96), cornerback Albert Lewis (1983-1993), defensive end Leslie O'Neal (1998-99), cornerback Ty Law (2006-07), quarterback Dave Krieg (1992-93) and head coaches Marty Schottenheimer (1989-98) and Dick Vermeil (2001-05). A senior committee finalist, former Chiefs defensive back Johnny Robinson, and two finalists from the contributors category, Broncos owner Pat Bowlen and former Cowboys executive and current National Football League consultant Gil Brandt, also have been nominated. The remaining five finalists will be voted on individually, "yes" or "no" and must receive the same 80 percent positive vote as the Senior and Contributors Finalists to earn election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

More news: Mac Miller was dead hours before body was found
More news: European Union executive will get tough with countries breaking rule of law: Juncker
More news: Landslide at Greek beach on Zakynthos caught on camera

He spent his final five seasons with Atlanta, finishing with 111 touchdown catches and 15,127 yards receiving. The Class of 2019 will be announced during the "NFL Honors" show that evening.

Mitchell, longtime NBC Sports Washington analyst, is seeking enshrinement after several years of being overlooked and undervalued by the Hall of Fame committee.