Pakistan poll results threaten Imran Khan's premiership


Mehru Hayat, daughter of Imran's wife Bushra Maneka, and her friend Farah Khan congratulated the prime minister designate for the win in elections and expressed contentment over the party's leadership and manifesto.

Pakistan's election authority on Tuesday issued the final results of the July 25 elections but withheld the results of several winning candidates for various reasons, most notably Imran Khan, the presumed premier.

Bollywood superstar Aamir Khan has finally responded to speculations about him attending Pakistani cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan's oath-taking ceremony for the post of prime minister after his party, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, won the elections in July.

In other three constituencies, notifications of Imran Khan's victory have been issued but will be subject to the decision of the Election Commission of Pakistan or ECP in the pending case of violation of the election code of conduct, media reports said. However, it was later clarified that the ECP held back notifications of only two constituencies, The News reported. The PTI chief had received 92,891 votes while the PML-N leader managed to get 44,314 votes.

More news: Arsenal's Stan Kroenke to buy out Alisher Usmanov for sole ownership
More news: Del Potro, Fognini advances to Mifel Open final
More news: Barcelona rope in midfielder Arturo Vidal

The election commission says the withholding of notifications will not affect the National Assembly's election of its next prime minister, speaker, and deputy speaker, expected next week.

Mr Chaudhry said withholding of the results of such a large number of constituencies of the National Assembly and the provincial assemblies on "legal and administrative grounds" was "inappropriate".

PTI sources said that Khan will appear before the probe team today and later also preside over a meeting of PTI local leaders in Peshawar.

Of the nine candidates whose results have been withheld, four each are from the PTI and the Pakistan Muslim League (N) of jailed ex-Premier Nawaz Sharif, while one belongs to the center-left Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP).