Alabama softball to host NCAA Regional for 14th straight year


The Kentucky Softball team was announced as a host team for the 2018 NCAA Softball Championship on Sunday night during the NCAA Softball Selection Show.

The league landed seven bids out of its nine teams, and five of those squads are set to host regionals. California and Oregon State will be traveling for the regionals, going to Athens, Georgia and Tuscaloosa, Alabama, respectively. The Irish are 5-8 in the past 13 games, while the Wolverines have lost four of their past eight games, including a 7-0 loss to Michigan State in a Big Ten quarterfinal on Friday.

The Florida softball team will host an NCAA Regional for the 14 consecutive season at Katie Seashole Pressly Stadium.

This is South Carolina's 21st NCAA Tournament appearance in program history.

More news: Patent application hints that Microsoft's folding phone could have three screens
More news: 'Lethal Weapon' Renewed with Seann William Scott In and Clayne Crawford Out
More news: Pompeo: US to help North Korea economy if it gives up nuke

The Pac-12 had seven teams picked for the 64-team postseason.

Auburn, which has been to the Super Regional round for the last three years, is 8-14 all-time as the No. 2 seed in a Regional. The team would then face the victor out of the College Station Regional.

OR is the top overall seed in the tournament.