This is the new Gmail design

Share

Google is testing a feature called "confidential mode" in Gmail, which allows users sending mail to other Gmail users to set an expiration date for their correspondence, and informs the user that "Options to forward, download, or copy this email's contents and attachments will be disabled".

Google will also introduce a new feature, dubbed Confidential Mode. This feature is already available for people who use the Inbox by Gmail app or Boomerang, a third-party Gmail tool. However, it's not just the design that will be new as it looks like the service will get new features as well.

There's now no word on a final release date for the new Gmail, however, a message to early access testers hints at a launch date in the coming weeks. Google has been trying to implement their entire ecosystem for some time now, and this design is a good step in the right direction for Gmail users. On the bottom of your email with the new design, there will also be "smart replies". Instead, you will be invited to click on a link to view the email on a secured website. Smart replies offer suggestions for quick one-line replies within emails.

Google is providing three new layouts to choose from, including a default view that highlights attachments like documents and photos, a comfortable view that doesn't highlight attachments, and a compact view that increases the amount of messages you can see on a single page. Snooze can also bring the email back when you're at a specific location, which is useful for setting aside personal email for when you get home from work. They can also ask the email recipient to confirm their identity with a passcode sent via text messages.

More news: Ian Somerhalder starring in Netflix vampire series 'V-Wars'
More news: Jon Rahm earns two-shot win at Open de Espana
More news: No US military activity in Syria's Homs at this time - Pentagon

Snooze an email - You tag an email with a time stamp and it disappears from your inbox and reappears at the time you've chosen.

The tech firm is said to be working on a "confidential mode" which will destroy emails after they have been sent.

Unfortunately, for all the precautions included in Gmail's new Confidential Mode, it is impossible to prevent users from taking a screenshot of the contents of an email.

Share