CWG 2018: India Clinch 25 Gold, 15 Silver, 18 Bronze, Thus Far


Premier Indian Javelin Thrower Neeraj Chopra on Saturday delivered his season best performance to clinch gold in the javelin throw event of the Commonwealth Games 2018 here.

The 20-year-old, Indian Athlete who held the best throw among all the javelin throwers from the Commonwealth Games this year was India's best bet in the field events. In his six attempts, Neeraj worst throw came with 83.48m, but it was more than the throw of Australia's Hamish Peacock at 82.59m, who claimed the silver. He then extended his lead to 86.47 in his fourth throw, which in fact turned out to be his seasonal best.

The CWG field had been depleted after 2016 Olympics silver-medallist Julius Yego of Kenya failed to qualify for final round, while 2012 Olympics champion and Rio Games bronze-winner Keshorn Walcott of Trinidad opted out of the Gold Coast Games.

"I've been totally relaxed here, I've enjoyed myself". After a strong start to the event, which saw Chopra rise to a Gold medal spot after a throw of 85.50 m, he faltered in his second attempt before he could hit a mark of 84.78 in his third attempt.

More news: NCAA panel approves drastic rule change for kickoffs
More news: First Rohingya family repatriated in Myanmar despite United Nations concerns
More news: More than 200 million eggs recalled due to potential salmonella contamination

Neeraj, a gold-medallist at the Asian Championships past year, simply destroyed the competition with his very first attempt on Sunday that was 85.50m.

"It makes a a lot of difference when you manage to get a first throw like that".

His compatriot Vipin Kashana finished fifth with a best effort of 77.87m. Arpinder's best effort was a 16.46m jump. The Jamaican team won the relay with a time of 3:24.00. Cameroon's Marcel Mayack II produced a personal best of 16.80m to put the Indian out of medal contention.

Earlier in the day, we already say - Indian sprinter Jinson Johnson created a new national record after finishing the 1500 metre track race in 3:37:86 in the Commonwealth Games 2018 here. What did was that he joined the elite group of Milkha Singh (1958), Krishna Poonia (2010) and Vikas Gowda (2014) as the fourth Indian to win an individual gold medal in athletics in CWG history.