WhatsApp to make it hard to bypass 'delete for everyone' feature


We have seen that the extended time for deleting messages working on Android beta, but not on the iOS version of WhatsApp.

WhatsApp only few months ago launched the Delete for everyone feature that allows users to delete any sent message on the app.

The app which introduced the "delete for everyone" feature previous year, allowed people to delete messages seven minutes after it was sent. Report states that WhatsApp has now improved its maths so it now finds a message in the database having the same ID as that of the evoke message request, it first goes through the data of the message saved in the database. Those using modded or unauthorized versions of the app have tricked this notification system to delete old messages.

According to WaBetaInfo (@wabetainfo), a Twitter account that tracks changes in WhatsApp's beta builds, the app will silently add the "Block revoke request" feature, which will prevent the misuse of Delete for everyone feature. Messages that have a time more than the 24 hours are no more deleted. If now deletes message with only date of less than 24 hours.

More news: E.ON reaches agreement in principle with RWE to acquire innogy
More news: See All the Red Carpet Fashion from the 2018 iHeartRadio Music Awards
More news: March Madness Is Officially Here, Check Out The Bracket

The caveats that have always applied to this feature still apply: short of brainwashing someone, the effectiveness of the feature is limited if your friends have already opened up the message.

With this new addition, WhatsApp is sticking to 24 hours as a reference time period in order to ensure that the recipient or recipients in case of group chat have ample time to receive the revoke request.

As the report points out, one of the problems is that if the phone is switched off during the time the "Delete for Everyone" request is sent out, and remains off for the next 24 hours, then the request will be considered invalid and the message will continue to remain on the group or chat, even if it was deleted for others. The update is a step to curb exploitation of a feature that was deemed useful by those using the platform.