Nepal PM Bahadur Deuba resigns, KP Oli to succeed


A member of the Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist), he was the second Prime Minister under the newly adopted Constitution of Nepal.

Feb 15, 2018-The Kathmandu-based US Embassy on Thursday congratulation CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli on his appointment as the new Prime Minister of Nepal.

The Left alliance of the CPN-UML, led by Oli and CPN-Maoist Centre, led by Prachanda, secured nearly two third majority in the Parliament during the parliamentary elections.

Bhandari was elected as the first woman president of Nepal in October, 2015.

The long delay has dampened the optimism that accompanied the polls, when many voters cast their ballots hoping a new government would bring much-needed stability and development.

More news: Mitt Romney Reportedly Launching a Campaign to Become Senator of Utah
More news: Jose Mourinho dealt blow in pursuit of Bayern Munich star Arturo Vidal
More news: I Joined Chelsea Because I Needed A New Challenge- Olivier Giroud

Deuba-led Nepali Congress lost the recent polls to provincial assemblies and parliament in 2017.

Nepal has cycled through 11 prime ministers since the civil war ended in 2006, allowing corruption to flourish and growth to stagnate. He served as home minister in 1994 and foreign minister in 2007.

Prachanda had resigned on May 24 after a brief stint of nine months, honouring a power sharing understanding with the ruling coalition partner Nepali Congress to hand over the country's leadership to the largest party in Parliament. Reports state that former health minister Girirajmani Pokharel submitted the resignation of all the ministers - 10 union and six ministers of state - from the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Centre) to Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba.

An alliance of left parties - the CPN-UML and the CPM-Maoist Centre - has won a total of 116 seats.